P.K.R. Nair Prize for outstanding Research in Agriculture/Forestry

A function was arranged at the Seminar Hall of College of Forestry, Vellanikkara on 5th July 2014 jointly by the College of Forestry, Vellanikkara and College of Agriculture, Vellayani to distribute first P.K.R. P.K.R. Nair Prizes for outstanding Post Graduate Research in Agriculture/Forestry. The function was presided by Dr. Swerup John, Dean, College of Agriculture, Vellayani. Dr. K. Sudhakara, Dean, College of Forestry delivered the welcome speech. The life history of Dr. P.K.R. Nair and his contributions to the development of Agroforestry as a discipline was briefly described during the welcome speech. Dr. K. Sudhakara also explained the background for instituting such an award in the two disciplines of Agriculture and Forestry. Dr. Swerup John, Dean, College of Agriculture, Vellayani delivered the Presidential Address. During his address he announced that the award distribution ceremony for the next year will be held at College of Agriculture, Vellayani and also invited in advance all the dignitaries and audiences for the same.

The Chief Guest of the function was Dr.K.K.Ramachandran, Member Secretary, Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment. He delivered a special talk at the function and also urged the students and faculty to visit the KSCSTE website and make use of the research support programmes by KSCSTE. The Chief Guest announced the names of the students who got the awards and the awards were distributed by him.

Dr. P.V. Balachandran, Director of Extension, KAU and Dr. T.R. Gopalakrishnan, Director of Research, KAU were present at the occasion and felicitated the award winners. Other dignitaries who participated who were present in the function are Dr. E.V. Nybe, Director of Academic and PG Studies, Dr. V. K. Raju, Assistant Director of Research (Farms), Dr. A. Sukumaran, Associate Dean, College of Cooperation, Banking and Management, Vellanikkara and Mr. B. Ajithkumar, Public Relations Officer, KAU. A large group of audience including UG and PG students, members of the faculty, non-teaching staff and labourers of the College were present at the occasion.



Dr. K. Sudhakara, Dean, College of Forestry delivering the welcome speech



Dr. Swerup John, Dean, College of Agriculture delivering the Presidential address



Dr. K. K. Ramachandran, Chief Guest addressing the gathering





Kum. Vijayasree, receiving the award from Dr. K.K. Ramachandran





Kum. Samrithika Thakur receiving the award from Dr. K.K. Ramachandran



Kum. Vijayasree sharing her research experiences



Kum. Samrithika Thakur sharing her research experiences



Dr. T. K. Kunhamu sharing his experiences as a guide of Kum. Samrithika Thakur



Dr. P.V. Balachandran, Director of Extension addressing the audience



Dr. T. R. Gopalakrishnan, Director of Research addressing the audience



Dr. K. K. Ramachandran receiving a memento from Dr. K. Sudhakara



Dr. K. Vidyasagaran delivering the vote of thanks



The award winners after the distribution ceremony